Live in Frankfurt 82 on vinyl


  1. Darafo (7:27)
  2. Chetu (8:59)
  3. Bitter Funeral Beer (10:06)
  4. Funeral Dance (25:35)
  5. Gahu (3:57)


Lineup and soloists:
Bengt Berger, Ko-Gyil (Lo-Birifor funeral xylophone), Atsimevu (Ewe master drum);
Anita Livstrand, Ko-Gyil, voice, percussion;Bosse Skoglund, percussion;Thomas Mera Gartz,percussion, tenor sax;Sigge Krantz, acoustic and electric bass, guitar, percussion;Matthias Helldén, cello, percussion;Tord Bengtsson, violin, guitar, percussion;Christer Bothén, tenor sax, bass clarinet, percussion;
Björn Hellström, bass clarinet, flute, percussion;
Ulf Wallander, soprano sax, tenor sax, percussion;
Jörgen Adolfsson, soprano sax, alto sax, percussion;
Tommy Adolfsson, trumpet, percussion; Don Cherry, pocket trumpet;
K. Sridhar, sarod.

more info

Frankfurt 82 – soloists:
1. Darafo 7:16 Soloists: Matthias Helldén, cello; Don Cherry, pocket trumpet;
2. Chetu 9:38 Soloists: Sigge Krantz, elgitarr, Don Cherry, pocket trumpet
3. Bitter Funeral Beer 9:42 Soloists: K. Sridhar, sarod; Don Cherry, pocket trumpet, Anita Livstrand, röst; Thomas Mera Gartz, tenorsax;
4. Funeral Dance 26:04 Soloists: Tord Bengtsson, fiol; Tommy Adolfsson, trumpet; Ulf Wallander, tenorsax; Björn Hellström, flöjt; K. Sridhar, sarod and Don Cherry, pocket trumpet; Sigge Krantz, elbas; Jörgen Adolfsson, altsax; Tommy Adolfsson, trumpet; Christer Bothén, tenorsax; Matthias Helldén, cello; Bosse Skoglund and Thomas Mera Gartz, drums;
Unfortunately there was not room for the last piece Gahu on the LP but you find it on the cd
Country & Eastern released two live concerts by the band on october 16, 2007:
CE 09 Live in Frankfurt 82, was recorded by Hessischer Rundfunk at 18 Deutsches Jazzfestival at Alte Oper in Frankfurt with Don Cherry and the indian sarod maestro K. Sridhar as guests, and

CEX09 Live in Nürnberg 84 was recorded by Bayerischer rundfunk.

Download a cover for your mp3 download.

Press release: C&E News october 2007

Here are reviews in swedish and in english from Jazzwise and fROOTS

Nominated for a swedish jazz grammy 2007!

Video clips from the concert


“This is exhilarating music that reaches for a touch of the divine and does not stop until it gets there.” – Jason Weiss