Berger Knutsson Spering: Up Close (CE04)

1996 -? Berger Knutsson Spering

Our favourite BKS album, released in 2006 was recorded in an lovely session the famous “La Buissonne” studio in Provence. It contains inspired inprovisation, free as well as based on folk music and a beutiful Paul Motian piece.


  1. Petit Dejeuner (5:03)
  2. It Should Have Happened A Long Time Ago (7:48)
  3. Polska attributed to Snygg Olle (4:34)
  4. Under The Rainbow (12:41)
  5. Tre Små Bagar (3:25)
  6. Polska from Skogh (4:51)
  7. Up Close (4:28)
  8. Riley (5:26)
  9. The Human Machine (5:24)


more info

Recorded 5-6/11 and mixed 7/11-2003. Mastered february 2006. Recorded, mixed and mastered at “La Buissonne”, Pernes-Les-Fontaines, France.
The opening piece, Petit Déjeuner was actually an improvisation recorded the minute we woke up in the morning. We feel that the whole album is done in that “awakened” spirit.

Some material that we could not  make room for is relased on cex05 as a digital-only album.